Posted by: sakalaradiance | January 13, 2009

In 2009, I vow to:

Cut back on Caffeine.

What worries me, personally, is that I feel like I can’t fully start my day or that I’m not as efficient and effective without my morning coffee. So I guess that makes me an addict.  While, I have gotten into tea and hot water with lemon a lot more in the last year, it would behoove me to add some decaffeinated coffee to that repertoire.  Maybe if it tastes like my regular morning coffee, than I can trick my brain into jumping to alertness after a cup or two, as it would if I were to drink my normal coffee.  I already know that there are negative effects of caffeine in my personal use such as: 

It is very dehyrdrating; I always have to play catch up with my water intake to rehydrate after my coffee in the morning.                                                         

It stains my teeth, therefore I have to whiten them to counter that side effect.

I get an energy letdown around 1pm that I’m sure is connected to the coffee I had at 7am, and I get the urge to go to Starbucks and refuel. Not healthy or economic.

These facts from www.myaddiction.com shed a sobering light on my and many other people’s addiction to caffeine. “Caffeine addiction is for real and to make matters more disheartening for the avid coffee drinker or cola fan, caffeine employs the same effects as alcohol, LSD, cocaine, crystal methamphetamine, nicotine, opioids, benzodiazepines, and other major drugs. This makes caffeine the widest used psychoactive drug in the world.”

From www.mycaffeineaddiction.com:  

So what are the negative effects of caffeine? Here are just a few of the more common health problems that you may experience.

  1. Too much caffeine can lead to cardiovascular problems.
    When you consume caffeine, your blood pressure and heart rate will rise. Additionally, over time, an overuse of caffeine has been connected in some cases to heart disease.
  2. Caffeine can lead to the increased risk of gastrointestinal problems such as ulcers. Additionally, problems with the esophagus can come about due to extended, regular consumption of caffeine.
  3. Since caffeine stimulates stress hormones, this can lead to increased anxiety, insomnia, and tension. If you are like most people, increasing the amount of stress and anxiety in your life is not a good thing. There is enough of that to go around already!
  4. If you become addicted to caffeine, it will be difficult to cut this out of your diet. When you finally decide to do so, you may experience symptoms associated with withdrawal. This includes irritability, headaches, and more.

Top Ten Coffee Alternatives:

  1. Teeccino is the number one coffee alternative sold in the United States. This “herbal coffee” is meant to act as a replacement for anybody who is addicted to caffeine. With a great taste and none of the harmful side effects, Teeccino has quickly been taken to by tens of thousands of Americans. If you are looking for a coffee alternative, there is no better option.
  2. While green tea contains some caffeine, it is nowhere near as much as coffee. This drink is full of antioxidants, and is much healthier than coffee. For many, this is a natural change that makes it easy to stop drinking so much coffee.
  3. Much like green tea, black tea is also an effective coffee alternative. Many people love this option because of its strong flavor, as well as its great taste when mixed with milk. Additionally, black tea has half as much caffeine content as coffee.
  4. Licorice tea contains no caffeine, and offers a sweet flavor that is sure to wake you up.
  5. Yerba mate may not be a commonly known coffee alternative, but it offers many benefits. Not only is it caffeine free, but Yerba mate still offers a stimulating effect on the body.
  6. Rooibos tea is very similar to black tea. The main difference is that this option is caffeine free. Just like black yea, this drink is full of antioxidants and other health benefits.
  7. Chocolate powder may not be the best coffee alternative, but it is an option. While this powder does contain some caffeine, it is not nearly as much as a cup of coffee.
  8. Siberian Ginseng tea contains no caffeine, and is known to have positive effects on the human body.
  9. Chai consists of red, black, and green tea. While the black and green portions contain caffeine, the red does not. When compared to coffee, Chai has much less caffeine content.
  10. Carob powder is similar to cocoa, but does not contain caffeine. Additionally, carob powder is known to have a positive effect on the digestive system.
Leave a Reply

Categories

