Posted by: sakalaradiance | October 22, 2011

Yoga at Home

yoga fit teacherHere are a few ways Yoga Journal has recommended you make your home yoga-friendly  environment:

 

1. Work with what you have. Most of us don’t have an entire room we can dedicate to our yoga practice. I have a dedicated corner in a spare bedroom that I also use as an office. Your practice space doesn’t have to be anything fancy–all you need is enough room to stretch out in Downward-Facing Dog.

 

2. Set aside a dedicated space. While your space doesn’t have to be big or fancy, it does help to unroll your mat in the same spot every time. When you get into the habit, it’s hard not to walk past your yoga area without thinking about your practice. Even if you don’t immediately stop what you’re doing for some mat time, you might breathe deeper, relax your shoulders, and look forward to the next time you can practice.

 

3. Put something inspiring in your view. For some people this is an alter with a Buddha statue and pictures of your guru. I draw my inspiration from a bookcase full of my favorite books, magazines, pictures, and other trinkets that remind me of why I do this practice.

 

4. Clear the energy. It might sound a little woo-woo, but when something that stresses me out happens in my home practice space, I like to clear the energy my using my tingshas (Tibetan chimes). I know other people who use singing bowls or burn sage. You could accomplish the samething by simply sitting down to meditate on positive thoughts.

 

5. Leave your shoes at the door. I’m not a germophobe, so I’m not all that concerned about tracking germs from outside into my home. I still love the ritual of removing my shoes before I enter my practice space. It sets the tone for reverence and spirituality–which can be hard to do at home.

Leave a Reply

Categories

